Short Story – ‘Screaming’

Something a little more light-hearted now, to ease in the new term. Do you remember when Edward Munch’s The Scream went missing a few years ago? I got to wondering how and why such a thing might come about.

Screaming

It was the kind of day when you ponder how its really all too easy to cut your tongue on your own teeth. Seems like a basic design flaw, that. Whose idea was it to have something so soft and sensitive housed in the same orifice as naked, sharpened bone?

Tongue protruding slightly (maybe I thought air would help numb the pain) I stared at the blank computer screen with my fists balled in my hair. I dont know how long Id been like that…collectively during the last month Id guess about a fortnight, although at this point it was about two in the afternoon so I must have only been out of bed for about half an hour.

The air was as uncommitted as tarmac and the vague sunlight lay like cold dust all over the room. If Id been able to think of a couple of similes like that at the time there wouldnt have been so much of a problem. I may have even got dressed to celebrate, though I cant promise anything.

There was a character forming on the screen in front of me. Well, character in the loosest sense of the word. There were a few words coming together to form some semblance of a fictional personality, but it was slim pickings. Three pathetic paragraphs and an over-enthusiastic word-processor cursor. I managed to muster up the energy to glare at it.

With a report that almost had me sailing through the ceiling tiles, someone announced themselves in no uncertain terms on the woodwork of my front door.

“Please, dear God, be someone interesting.”

I shambled down the hall whilst doing up the tie on my dressing gown and wondered idly who would be calling at my flat at this time on a Sunday. My publishers were perhaps the only people I knew less committed to writing than me and wouldnt fly out here to do what could easily be accomplished in an abusive phone call. As for friends, well, just…ha.

I peered through the peephole, leant back, wiped it with my sleeve and tried again.

“What the hell?” I yanked the door open and stared dumbfounded before repeating, louder this time, “What the hell?”

“Dearest sister.”

I didnt dodge in time and was shortly and, it seemed, irretrievably enveloped in a cold and not-entirely-pleasant smelling embrace. It was even clumsier than usual due to the rather large and flat package he grasped in his left hand.

“Doug,” I croaked. “Doug, get off!”

He pulled off and ginned at me idiotically.

I stood there, stammering. “Well, what…why?”

“No need to look so surprised,” he shook his head at me. “Cant a man visit his little sister when in her neighbourhood?”

“Not when her neighbourhood is downtown Moscow. What are you doing here?”

He sauntered down the corridor and settled himself in one of the large but grubby armchairs in my living room. He looked about himself appraisingly.

I spent a moment trying to disentangle my confusion from my anger before shutting the door noisily and moving through to the living room. I stood with my hands on hips and tried to look intimidating. “Doug, the probation officers are really not going to like this,”

“One might think you werent pleased to see me from your tone, young lady. Jesus, you look like crap.”

“Well you smell like you spent the night in a cattle truck.”

“I did.”

I took a deep breath, adjusted my glasses and formed the question again, slowly. “What are you doing here?”

He shrugged, still grinning. “I just thought it was about time I came and visited you out here in the frozen wastes.”

“Is that so?” I slumped onto the sofa opposite him. I felt that he really was in no position to be telling me I looked like crap. Not only had he seemingly slept in a cattle truck but also in his clothes and, from the look of him, for more than a couple of days. He needed a shave, a bath and to be about one and a half thousand miles West.

“So how you doing?”

I blinked at him. “Same as ever.”

He nodded, scanning the ceiling. “Your latest is doing well back home.”

“I should think so too, they bugged me enough for it,” I paused. “Are you going to tell me what youre doing here? Dont pretend any more. It must have been almost five years now…”

He looked at me and finally the silly grin slid. “Yeah, I know.” He stared at me and far in the backs of his eyes I could see the laughing that had been ringing in the air when he used to give my piggy-backs around the garden and help me steal biscuits from the top shelf. But then it fled, whisked away like pollen on the breeze to be replaced by something a little colder. “Its been too long, dont you think?”

It was a simple enough question, but it asked more than I felt I should have to answer.

I scowled at him. “Dont talk to me like that,” I snorted. “Youve no right to be angry at me. You stopped talking to me.”

“And why do you think that was, Chris?”

“Well how the hell should I know?”

“You never bothered to find out.” We glared for a moment until he rose and paced through to the kitchen. I followed, my attempted righteous indignation somewhat lessened by my threadbare dressing gown, uncombed hair and smudged glasses, but I still gave it a gutsy try.

“Well, come on then,” I growled at his backside as he rooted through my fridge.

“Christ, Chris, how old is some of this stuff?”

“Dont change the subject. If this is the moment of revelations, why did you stop talking to me?”

“Well,” he rose with a still fairly edible apple and a cold sausage, “leaving the country wasnt exactly the best way to keep close with friends and family.”

“I hadnt had so much as phone call from you since you got out, that was a year before I left.”

He sighed, spattering some semi-masticated apple onto the counter. He looked at me, brow slightly furrowed. “Youd abandoned yourself.”

I had crossed my arms and prepared a good response to you didnt visit me in prison, but for this all I could do was blink some more. “Stick who in the what now?”

He waved his sausage in the air demonstratively. “You werent you any more, youd abandoned everything that was important to you.”

“I didnt abandon you.”

“Not me, you pillock,” he scowled. “I know you would never visit me in prison and I really dont care. I wouldnt have wanted you to see me like that either.”

Well, that took the wind right out of my sails. I stood there, rather deflated and struggled to come up with a retort.

As I stood there doing a fairly passable impression of a goldfish, he continued, “I dont know, you lost all your life once youd had that contract less than a year. You got into writing for a reason, Chris, but theres nothing of you left in your books. You changed and it…disappointed me.”

“Let me get this straight,” I took a couple of deep breaths. “You come all the way out here, unannounced, turn up at me door stinking of what I can only hope is cow shit, insult my life choices, take my food and then insult my work?”

“Pretty much,” he returned to the living room, propped his filthy boots up on my already filthy coffee table and clicked the television on with the remote.

I could think of no curses foul enough. I tried anyway, whilst searching around the kitchen for something to hit him with. Returning to the lounge brandishing a ladle I asked, “What right do you have to come all the way out here and say these things to me?”

“Im your older brother,” he laughed. “Its my job to tell you when youre lifes gone down the crapper.”

“My life is not down the crapper,” I forced myself not to yell, that was what he wanted. “Im a successful writer, you prick. I make money, lots of it. Dont let the outfit fool you, Ive got stacks of cash now, and you know it, so how can you say that?”

“Youve lost yourself in the game, Christine Faver, Authoress Extraordinaire,” he laughed again, flicking through all the Russian channels. “You made a success through writing what you wanted but then you learned you could still make money writing whatever. I read your last one. Its selling, yeah, but theres nothing in there that you used to sneak into my room when we were kids and tell me about.”

I lowered my ladle.

He clicked off the telly. “I mean, seriously, Chris. Which was the last book you actually enjoyed writing?”

I rubbed my eyes. I knew he was right. If anything that just made it worse. My books sold through clever advertising and some models photograph on the inside of the jacket. Even when I just had to get away, they told me to move to Moscow to be inspired by the history, the landscape, the people. But I barely ever went out if I could help it, spent most of the time sleeping and just churned out as little as I could get away with.

“Ive lost it Doug,” I slouched on the sofa. “Lost it ages ago. Ive forgotten how to enjoy it, but it keeps a roof over my head and buys me chocolate and shampoo so I dont complain.”

He leant forward and patted me on the knee. I looked up and he was gazing at me comfortingly. “I lost it too,” then he was grinning again and I was really starting to get annoyed with him. Here he had opened a wonderful new window for me to jump through and roll about in self-pity and he wasnt even going to let me enjoy it.

“Well, I didnt lose it, they took it away from me when they shoved me in that dump.”

It? What it? You dont have an it.”

“Course I have an it,” he looked offended. “How do you think I ended up in there?”

“You broke into an art gallery,”

“Yeah, because I do what I want, not matter what people think,” he seemed absurdly pleased with himself. “Thats my it, my freedom, my wanting to appreciate the arts and screw opening times.”

I shook my head. “Doug, thats not an it, thats just insane.”

“Its sort of an it,” he said, a little abashed. “The point is, I stayed true to myself. They wouldnt let me in during the day, because I looked like I may cause trouble. They had fliers with my face on, for some reason,”

I rolled my eyes.

“But I wanted to see the exhibition. It was my right. I was not going to cause any trouble, I just wanted to look at the paintings. So I broke in.”

“So, youre comparing you breaking and entering to me not being faithful to myself?”

“Oh no,” he quickly stated. “Youre much worse.”

I fingered the ladle.

“But look,” he pulled forward the brown paper parcel that hed propped against his chair. “Ive made up to myself all that time inside. The time I couldnt be who I really was, couldnt run around and know I was being who I was born to be.”

“What is it?” I took it from him. It was large and flat, wrapped in layers of brown paper.

He blushed a little. “Its sort of the reason I had to leave.”

A cold dread filled my stomach and started to seep through my veins and out through my skin. I stared at the parcel in my hands and then tore the paper off.

“Oh Holy Jesus,” I stammered. “Holy Mary, mother of Jesus. Holy fuck…” My hands were shaking. It took a lot of effort to track down my voice. “Douglas Faver,” I started slowly. “Please, please, please tell me you didnt steal Edvard Munchs Scream.”

“Good, isnt it?” He grinned. All I could do was gape. I took off my glasses, rubbed my eyes with my grubby sleeve. But it was still there when I opened them again.

“Youve done it this time, Doug,” I found my voice, somehow. “Seriously, this is not small-time stuff. Youre so deep in it you really shouldnt open your mouth in case you suffocate.”

“Oh, its not that bad,”

Not that bad? Not that bad? Doug, this is beyond bad, this is international infamy bad, this is…bloody hell this is fucking say-bye-bye-to-Europe bad…”

He was still grinning, damn him. “Ive got that side of things figured out,” he said, casually. “I really just popped into to see you on the way to…wherever it is I end up.”

I dropped the painting on the floor, lifted up my hands, ducked down my head and clutched at my brow like nobodys business. I couldnt even decide on which was the best groan to go for, so I tried a few. “Youve done it this time, you idiot. This is it for you. Youll have to go to bloody Timbuktu or something.”

He leant forward and patted my knee comfortingly. “Now, now, dont panic. Its fine, it is. Ive got it all worked out…sort of. I didnt come here to get you to bail me out or anything.”

I sat up. “Then why the hell did you come?”

“Well,” he said, mock insulted. “One, to say goodbye to my little sister who I practically raised,”

I rolled my eyes again.

“And two,” he picked up the painting, smiled at it strangely, then handed it back to me. “To give you this.”

“You have got to be yanking my chain,”

He shook his head and his eyes were so sincere it made me want to punch him out.

“I thought you said you didnt want me to bail you out? I wont do it, Doug. This is your mess, Ill be damned if jump in it too.”

He shook his head more fiercely. “No, its not like that

I shifted my glare from the painting to him.

“Well, maybe its a little like that,” he shrugged. “Theyre probably not too likely to search for it in some crummy bedsit over a crappy liquor store in the cruddy end of Moscow, its true, so thats that problem sorted. But mostly I just want you to have it, you know, as a present.”

I blinked at him and tried to find any trace of laughter in his eyes to let me know this was all some terribly unfunny joke.

“Please, Chris,” he smiled. “Take it, its for you. Hang it on the wall above the telly. Let it remind you of taking chances for what you believe in.”

The new books not selling all that well in Britain and is only doing tolerably well stateside. But damn, I enjoyed writing it.

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Short Story – ‘Screaming’

  1. Nick Taylor says:

    This one brings back memories 😀

  2. “Be someone interesting.” Be careful what you wish for =)

    I could see Chris completely mimicking the portrait when she realised what it was.

    A terminology we have in our national football code is ‘taking a screamer’, where the player catches the football through spectacular means. I think Doug just pulled one off himself =)

    An interesting little story, with interesting characters and quite an unexpected locale.

Leave a Reply

