Holy Real-Life-Deadline, Batman!

Courtesy of Google Images

I can’t go into any real detail at this point but I can say I have been given what amounts to my first real deadline. And boy does it feel real. Red-circle-on-the-calendar, cancelling-all-plans real.

I had deadlines at university, of course. I have the occasional one at work (I am very lucky with my job, I don’t get many). But at university I had little else to do except work to my deadlines (and fit in the occasional pint) and at work, well, I have eight hours every day to make sure I meet those.

This is a shiny, exciting and quite scary new deadline. A have-a-draft-finished-in-three-months deadline. Like, a proper one. The sort the writers get. Meep.

The exciting part is being given a deadline at all. The scary part is meeting it.

But already it feels great because not only does it mean I would be daft not to knuckle down and get it done, but it also feels like I’m doing something real and not just something that is only for myself.

So, yeah. Produce a draft in three months. Piece of cake, right?

Oddly enough however, I’m quite calm. At least, I am right now. Come back in two months and twenty nine days and we’ll run a pool on how much hair I have left. But at the moment I have simply told myself well, you best get on with it, hadn’t you? No more excuses. No more pints. Well…maybe an occasional pint. But no more excuses!

I know when I buckle down to it I can be relatively prolific. It’s not always great writing, but there will be time to polish later and the important bit at this stage is getting the narrative down. I know I can produce up to 5,000 words in an evening after work or 10,000 a day if I’m not at work. I usually have time for a quick read-through as well.

So, on paper it’s more than do-able. Damn on paper. Damn it all to hell.

But it’s ok. I know it’s going to be ae lot of work, but I’ve never known a more productive kick up the ass.

Yey for deadlines! The ultimate blessing in disguise.

Watch this space for what promises to be a bit of a roller-coaster. If we all get off the ride at the end with extremities, net book and living room window in tact I will count it as a win.

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Holy Real-Life-Deadline, Batman!

  1. Christi says:

    Deadlines are absolutely a blessing in disguise — they get you moving! Good luck!

  2. Having a point on the horizon to focus does help. Good luck with your task, and I look forward to reading of the undulations in your undertaking =)

  3. Pingback: 2000 | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  4. Pingback: VBU – (Very Brief Update) | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  5. Pingback: Something Worth Checking Out | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  6. Pingback: Got a goal? Join me for #ProjectAugust! | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  7. Pingback: Just in case you hadn’t noticed… | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  8. Pingback: New Direction, New Look | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  9. Pingback: August is done. Now for the rest of the year… | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  10. Pingback: Tuned to a Dead Chanel – Out next week! | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  11. Pingback: Time To Retreat | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  12. Pingback: Some News and a new Flash For Friday | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  13. Pingback: The Witching Hour | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  14. Pingback: #FlashForFriday – Wasteland | The Path – J. S. Collyer's Writing Blog

  15. Pingback: All the Delicious SciFi | The Path – J. S. Collyer's Writing Blog

  16. Pingback: Seasonal Settings and Informing your Voice | The Path – J. S. Collyer's Writing Blog

  17. Pingback: Here We Go Again – Novel Drafting and a new #FlashForFriday | The Path – J. S. Collyer's Writing Blog

Leave a Reply

