VBU – (Very Brief Update)

It has been two weeks since I started in on my first proper draft-with-a-deadline. I have been impeded by technical difficulties, running out of annual leave and a night out in London during which I did not go to bed and had some serious catch-up snoozes to get over (although it was fricking awesome, so no regrets there) and I have still managed to stomp up 43,000 words. In two weeks. Frick on a stick.

I am not boasting, I’m just taking a moment to marvel at what can be accomplished when a) you have a deadline and b) when you so thoroughly enjoy a project you resent every minute not spent working on it.

It’s obviously still early days. This is drafting so it’s riddled with typos and clunky language. But it’s getting somewhere, and getting there fast.

Right, better get back to it.

Peace out!

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to VBU – (Very Brief Update)

  1. Gwen says:

    43k – wow! You deserve to boast. I only wish I had that kind of inspiration (and time!)

    • jcollyer says:

      I’ve really enjoyed it!! I’m lucky in that my time outside my job is my own bit I didn’t think I could be so prolific! Still a long way to go however. But a promising start!

  2. Wow, that’s like 10 pages a day! Fantastic work. We bow in reverence =)

Leave a Reply

