Got a goal? Join me for #ProjectAugust!

Accountability and deadlines can have a wonderous effect on productivity. Not everyone works well under pressure, it’s true, but I have found having something I *have* to work towards has made me shed all excuses and just knuckle down.

I am motoring forward with the draft of my project-with-a-deadline at a rate I didn’t think was possible around a full time job and social life. I have never been happier to have been proved wrong.

I’m pleased with how I’m doing but I when I read this post  by Carol Despeaux on fellow blogger Carly Sandifer’s blog One Wild Word about #ProjectAugust (the brainchild of K. C. Dyer) I thought, what the heck! It can’t hurt to pile on a little bit more accountabilty, and thinking about it has actually helped me frame where I would like to be this time in four weeks, something I hadn’t considered before but which I’ve decided can only be a good thing.

The rules if you want to join in are on K. C. Dyer’s blog but the basic concept is this: set a goal for where you want to be at the end of August (and it doesn’t have to be a writing goal, you can be wanting to get a room tidyed out or a shed built or puppy house-trained, literally anything!) and then each Saturday you post on K. C.’s blog, (or just tweet or write it down somewhere if you only want to be accountable to youself) with the mini-goal for that week. Then you check in the following Saturday with how you’ve done and the goal for the following Saturday.

Join me, Carol and Carly and various others with getting yourself one more step along the line (or maybe even getting finished!) by the end of August! I can’t do any harm and it should be fun and it will certainly be hard not to get *something* achieved.

Follow me on twitter @JexShinigami if you want to see my progress/join in the fun 🙂

My goal for this first week is to have reached and be ready to write the first of the two major ‘plot turns’ in my draft. I shall report in on twitter on Saturday with if I managed it.

I also think this will be a good tool for getting a more clear idea of how much I can actaully do in a week and what I need to do, realistically, to have the draft done by October.

Peace and good luck, fellow #ProjectAugust adventurers! I look forward to hearing about your progress 🙂

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Got a goal? Join me for #ProjectAugust!

  1. Get a good start on my NaNoWriMo 2013 prep =)

  2. Pingback: Just in case you hadn’t noticed… | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  3. Pingback: #ProjectAugust Update | The Path - J. Collyer's Writing Blog

  4. Pingback: August is done. Now for the rest of the year… | The Path – J. Collyer's Writing Blog

Leave a Reply

