New Direction, New Look

It’s interesting how much you can change or develop in such a small amount of time. I honestly think that since the beginning of 2013 when I took a trip to Gladstone’s Library and decided I was going to finally try and get somewhere with my writing, I have come even further along with my development than I have managed in the whole four years since I finished my MA.

I made the decision in January, and, for the first time, I meant it. It’s amazing what excuses you can make for yourself, to yourself. And, largely, it’s fine. The only person you’re letting down is yourself. If you’re not all that  fussed about getting anywhere, then you won’t. If you decide you finally want to do something…it happens.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I’ve had a road to Damascus moment and am now declaring myself A Great Writer. Far from it. I still have a long way to go. I just mean that since January (and even more since June when I got given a deadline for October) I have worked hard. And it’s incredible how much I have got out of it.

I honestly think my technique has improved, just by doing it every day. I’m finding my voice and I’m getting somewhere. My determination certainly has strengthened and I have proved to myself just what I can do when I push myself.

Part of this mission I set my self in January was getting the blog rejuvenated. And what a vital cog in the machine that has been. I have made contacts, I’m learning from other writers every day, I keeping my finger on the pulse and learning more and more about the publishing world as well as finding inspiration everywhere I look from people walking the same path I am.

I now have a short story coming out in an upcoming anthology (a collection of dystopian sci-fi, Tuned to a Dead Channel – out 20th September! Watch this space) and I have also started in on a new project. I have found that these developments have driven me back to my first love – sci-fi.

Some would argue there are a lot of parallels between sci-fi and fantasy, which I was writing at the beginning of the year and that it can’t have been so much of a 180. And they would be right. However, I have found the story I have developed, the characters and universe I am roaming in, are a completely different tone, style and theme to anything I’ve tried before.

I’ve ratcheted up the dark, the doubt, the conflict and the tension. And I love it. I wonder if this is what I should have been doing from the beginning. But you sometimes have to find a 10,000 ways not to make a light bulb before you make one that works.

I feel I will be in this zone for some time to come so I felt The Path would benefit from a look that was less ‘fantasy’. It has served me well this far and I plan to continue using it to face the challenges, air the musings and ask the questions I need to ask to keep moving and keep growing.

Fingers crossed I keep it up and keep making things happen. And thank you so much to the wonderful community of writers and readers I have so far encountered on WordPress. You are a BIG part of where I am right now.

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Direction, New Look

  1. A English says:

    I couldn’t agree more about a blog doing wonders for energy and confidence when it comes to writing, good luck! 🙂

  2. H. Ken Abell says:

    Good luck with all this. I am so behind on reading, I have to devour your blog very soon!

    • jcollyer says:

      Thank you so much! Don’t worry, I haven’t put up masses of meaty content of late, it’s all been updates on various things I’ve been doing rather than posts on actual writing and/or actual fiction. I hope when I have more breathing space to get more actual content up, short stories etc 🙂

  3. Gwen Stephens says:

    Love the new look here! Maybe post a photo of yourself if you’re not opposed to the idea. I think it will really enhance the feel of a “real” writer on your blog.

    • jcollyer says:

      You make a good point! I like that I can see your face on yours 🙂 Once I’m a bit further down the line I’m hoping to get a Facebook page and official Twitter account and I’m going to get my partner to take some suitably arty pictures for that 🙂

  4. This is a personal process, isn’t it. And the blog is certainly a way to keep it focused and progressing.

    I like the new design too! Bright, clean, and easy to read. Nice job!

    • jcollyer says:

      Thanks very much 🙂 I’m looking forward to getting more actual content up once I have this big piece of work out of the way. I figure it can only help!

  5. Congrats on the leaps and bounds made up to this point, and here’s to many more of them =)

Leave a Reply

