Happily Ever After…? (Plus a new #FlashForFriday)

The concept of ‘The Ending’ is something that is kind of a big deal for a lot of fiction writers, I imagine. Poets too, most probably. Script writers as well. Heck, it’s probably something that no writer approaches lightly.

It’s the conclusion. The statement. The end. It’s that taste left in the mouth of the reader, the thought they’re left with, the place you’ve taken them too and then left them. It has a massive impact on their final conclusions about the story. So, yeah…a big deal.

For me, when ending a piece of fiction, whether writing or reading, I like closure. It doesn’t need to be all tied up tight and neat. It doesn’t even need to have answered all the questions. But it does need to have some sort of conclusion. There has to be a reason for the story to have ended at that point.

So that’s what I try to do with my fiction. I try to give closure. I try to reach the point that I set out to reach when I started writing and not stumble to a halt a few feet before or after I reach it, whatever sort of point it might be.

Today I have made myself consider something which I find to be a rather sticky wicket. The sought-after ‘happy ending’.

We like them. Don’t deny it. They can be contrived or daft or sappy, but when it comes to it, the bits of us that read or watch movies etc for escapism (and we all have that bit in us, I believe, no matter how refined, educated or experienced we might feel we are), we like to believe that, sometimes, it all turned out ok. It’s part of the reason we chose fiction as an alternative to reality.

When we’re in that sort of mood, of course. Our Disney mood. Our Terminal mood. Even the most hardcore cynics and malcontents among us still enjoy a happy ending now and again.

I know I do, at least.

But here’s the rub: I hate writing them. Read some of my fiction and you’ll see. There’s conclusions to every one in some form, I hope. And maybe there are a couple of exceptions, where there’s a glimmer of hope or the chance of characters moving on to something better or different but I wouldn’t say any of it had a signed-and-sealed ‘happy ending’. But then I don’t think any of these stories needed one. They ended as they were supposed to end. The ended at the point where the story had come full circle, whatever progress of pointed lack of the characters may have made.

Plus I like to write about the dark, the disturbed, the weird and the wonderful, the kind of other-worldly and under-stairsy parts of ourselves that would look at a happy ending and just go… “Huh? Who invited you?”

So, I know a happy ending isn’t always needed or, indeed, necessary. But just for the sake of the exercise, because it’s always good to try something new, because happy endings are so sought-after by unconscious parts of most readers, I have had a go at something positive. Something that concludes in a better place than where it started. Something with hope but without the reader going “Where the chuff did that come from?” and/or vomiting.

I hope, above all, that you enjoy 🙂

And, true to form, it is suitably seasonal for those in the mood.

Remember, Remember

067526b5“I’m just not sure this is necessary, Sara.”

“Come on now, Hayley. Where would Guy Fawkes be today with that attitude?”

“Well, still very dead. But perhaps by a few years fewer.”

“Ok, ok,” Sara muttered, shoving her gloved hands deeper into her pockets. “So maybe that was a bad example. But the principle’s still sound.”

“What principle?”

“Freedom,” Sara said with a grin. “From oppression. From tyranny.”

“Geoff wasn’t a tyrant, Sara.”

Sara barked a laugh in reply. “No offence, Hayley but you suck at choosing men. And bosses too for that matter.”

“He’ll be expecting that uniform back – ”

“Look, Hayley,” Sara took a grip of her by the elbows and looked her right in the eye. “You said you’d let me help you.”

“I meant just giving me somewhere to crash…”

“And I gave you that, right? So do this for me in return. Trust me. It will feel better.”

Hayley bit her lip and tried to see over the heads of the crowd to the pile of stacked wood. She shuffled closer, Sara following and muttering. The air was filled with misting breath and excited chatter. In the light from the toffee apple and mulled cider stalls in the car park she could see smiles on everyone’s faces. Sparklers trailed lightening through the air, leaving red trails on the inside of her eyelids. Festivity was woven through the air with the expectancy but all Hayley could think about was the box they’d hidden at the base of the bonfire.

Even now she could see the gap in the wood where they’d shoved it in.

“It’s going to be ok, you’ll see,” Sara said, voice a little softer than before.

Hayley didn’t look at her but swallowed against a tightness in her throat. “Is it not just a little extreme?”

“That’s the whole point.” Hayley did look at her then. All trace of her sister’s easy grin was gone and she had that earnest look she wore when she was knew she was right. “Look, Hay, it’s just stuff, right?”

“Borrowed stuff,” Hayley muttered and Sara shook her head.

“No more excuses.”

“It’s not an excuse.”

“Yes it is,” Sara said, leaning in again. “You have a reason not to part with every single bit of that stuff. But all of it, the pictures, the clothes, the ring…you need to let it go. Not only that, you need to see it go.”

“Sara…”

A cheer interrupted her as a man with a flaming brand climbed over the wire and made his was toward the ten-foot wooden pyre. The man waved and people cheered again, sparklers slicing yet more energetic circles in the night.

“Sara, if we’re quick – ”

“No,” her sister replied, grabbing hold of her elbow hard enough to hurt. “This is what you’re doing for me, Hayley. You’re watching it burn. You’re watching it go. Then I’ll believe you when you tell me you’re moving on.”

“I’m fine. Haven’t I told you a million times that I’m fine?”

“Yes and I’ve not believed you once. Now shut up and watch.”

Hayley swallowed again. A chill breeze picked up, bringing with it the coppery smell of dead sparklers mixed with toffee and smoke. The fire was touched to the kindling around the base of the wood. The light grew as the flames took hold and began to crackle. Smoke wafted through the air, thick as autumn mist and collecting at the back of her throat, tasting almost sweet.

It took her straight back to being a child still small enough to need to use on hand to clutch at her father’s whilst pressing the other one to her ear against the bang of the fireworks. She remembered Sara at her side, pretending to jump at every bang, screaming with delight but not being able to tear her eyes away from the shimmering rainbows burning against the sky.

The heat of the fire hit her all at once, flushing her cheeks and bringing her back to the present with a crackle and a pop. She took a frozen moment to consider how long it had been since she had felt that carefree, but shook it away.

She squinted and could make out the shape of her shoe box in the base of the fire. Almost as if she sensed Hayley’s sudden impulse to clamber over the wire and retrieve it, Sara pulled her sister closer.

One second the shoebox was lit up in the light of the hungry flames then it was curling and smoking, crumpling in on itself like a screwed up letter. Hayley felt her mouth fall open as the ashes were thrown up into the night with the showering sparks and the wafting smoke. The heat felt like a solid thing against her flesh. She craned her neck back to watch it all flake away into the stars just as there was a whirr and a bang and the sky was filled with a million glittering points of light.

She felt a laugh tumble from her throat and then another as more fireworks burst across the night in every colour possible. She felt Sara’s arm go round her and she took her gloved hand in her own but didn’t take her eyes off the sky, the smile widening across her face.

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Happily Ever After…? (Plus a new #FlashForFriday)

  1. M. C. Dulac says:

    Awww! Great story. The descriptions transported me right there.

  2. Rachael Charmley says:

    I find endings the hardest things to write. So I usually let the stories end themselves. I sometimes find if I ‘let the story loose’ somewhere near where I want the end to be – like separating myself from it – it often just takes over and writes itself, Does that make sense? The other thing is to just leave it for a few months, then return to it – how it should end becomes clear.
    Great blog. Great writing!

    • I think that is the most organic way if doing it and it often works out for the best – if the story has reached the place where everything comes together, you’re right, the ending has basically written itself. It’s wonderful when that happens. It’s tricky when it doesn’t. And you are right, giving it space and time can be the best cure 🙂

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and for your kind comments 🙂

  3. I like how the ending of this story is like a new, fresh beginning — all the past put in a shoe box and burned up, never to be agonized over again. There was a hint of something dangerous and rebellious at the beginning of the story that turned out to be a bit of a red herring, though — the story became something else entirely.

    • You’re right. I think I’d intended to have the originally doing something more dangerous and daring. Maybe I should tone that beginning down slightly 🙂 thanks!

      • Not necessarily — it’s just that with the Guy Fawkes references, my mind automatically went to a bomb. Metaphorically, it kind of is a bomb — blowing up her life, tearing down the old for the new.

      • You’re right indeed 😀 the Guy Fawkes image is a tricky one too – bonfire night is such and up-beat, festive occasion. I used to love it as a child (especially as it’s also the day before my birthday) but the actual origins of it celebrating the execution of a freedom fighter are rather dark and morbid. There’s ambivalence there for me when writing about it but in the tried to just go towards what it is now which is just an excuse for big fire, pretty fireworks and ensuring I am tired enough to sleep the night before my birthday 🙂

      • I find the burning of stuffy Guys delightfully pagan — not that I buy into paganism, either, I just love history and tradition — and am always amused at how some of the very very OLD things survive — like May Day, for another example.

      • And Halloween/All Hallows/Winter Equinox/Samhain 🙂 that’s one of my favourites for legend/stories and how it’s evolved. Christmas too was adapted by the Romans when they took over Britain apparently to absorb a pagan festival about the same time when people used to bring evergreen branches into their homes.

        You might well already know this but you will often find yew trees in churchyards in this country and very few elsewhere. Yew trees used to mark holy places for pagans and a lot of Christian churches were built on those spots. Some argue desecration and usurpation by the marauding early Christians, some argue that the Romans actually tried to bring all the traditions together hence so much of it is merged and mixed together now

      • Don’t ever let a devout Catholic hear me say this, but nowhere in my understanding of the Bible does it teach about praying to Mary or any of the saints — this is nothing but old school Roman polytheism in disguise, with a bit of paganism thrown in the mix with Mary as the Mother Goddess.

      • Fo sho! That’s Roman Catholicism at it’s glitteriest 🙂

      • How did we end up talking religion after all? How about that local sports team, eh?

      • Ha! It just happened anyway didn’t it? 😄 I am the worst person in the world to talk to about sports however. I let out a cheer when Andy Murray win Wimbolden, that was pretty special, but otherwise it’s just occasional cricket cos it soothes me or rugby league…for the thighs mainly 😄 I’m sure you’ll understand, Helena!

      • My home town of Shrewsbury is built along the river Severn which still has it’s own goddess. There’s a statue of her on the local park 🙂

  4. zenpenn says:

    Reblogged this on zenpenn and commented:
    Beautifully written inspiring short story.

  5. Reblogged this on J. S. Collyer Science Fiction Writer and commented:

    For Throwback Thursday and to mark the day, here’s a Bonfire Night short from last year about what’s important to remember and what’s not 🙂

Leave a Reply

