Greetings, Catching up, Shiny News

Greetings folks of the WordPress realm!

What do you mean, ‘Who’s that?’

It’s me! *waves*

I know, I’m sorry. I have been AWOL. This is simply because ‘busy’ doesn’t begin to cover it. Being productive and proactive I have found is the best, if not only, way to get anywhere with anything you care about and so last few weeks I have just not stopped.

Exploring Ronda, Andalucia. I could get used to this

Exploring Ronda, Andalucia. I could get used to this

Ok…so I did spend a week in Spain. My bad. But it was beyond glorious and there’s nothing like a trip away to refresh and brighten creativity. It also gave me the chance to get plenty of reading done. A writer needs to read. This is an indelible truth and although I do read every day, I rarely have time devour mulitple novels like chorizo.

In the week I was away, I got through Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier, Longbourn by Jo Baker and have also nearly finished Convergence by Michael Hicks. I discussed these, my ‘holiday reads’ in a previous post, so do check that out if you want more details.  Proper reviews of the books to follow in the near future but for now, let’s just say it was great to get into such varied but enjoyable stories.

The day after landing back in the UK I was off a trip to Nottingham to meet my publisher (oh yes, feels good to get to say that) to go over a few things, not least getting the last of the signed and inscribed copies of Zero sorted for all the wonderful people who ordered one through the crowdfunding campaign. Anyone still waiting on their copies should be keeping their eyes on their letter boxes!

Ye Olde Salutation Inn, Nottingham. Both sides of the civil war recruited from this building and there are man-made caves dating back to Anglo Saxon times underneath

Ye Olde Salutation Inn, Nottingham. Both sides of the civil war recruited from this building and there are man-made caves dating back to Anglo Saxon times underneath

Nottingham was great and, although it was only a flying visit, I saw enough to convince me that I want to go back for a thorough explore. Pubs dating back to the crusades, medieval castle walls and Anglo Saxon caves were just a few of the things I got to see, as well as getting the chance to avail myself of a couple of the many, many wonderful places to eat and drink.

I find that trips away are like bio-grow for creativity and inspiration, not only giving you ideas but also helping you gain life experience to ground your writing. One of my priorities when writing fiction, be it SciFi like Zero or twisted fairy tales or ghost stories, is to make it real, human, believable. No matter how out-of-this-world the setting, I like my fiction character-driven, and I like it to feel like it could actually happen…even if it’s about ghouls that you keep in the basement that grant wishes in exchange for your soul, it has to feel real.

Therefore, I do like to help myself to a slice of reality now and then, even if  only to inform my writing rather than dominate it.

Dagda Publishing treated me to tea and cake at The White Rabbit Tearooms. Yes, it was as good as it looks

Dagda Publishing treated me to tea and cake at The White Rabbit Tearooms. Yes, it was as good as it looks

As you can probably guess…I don’t like too much reality in my fiction. I do like a dab of laser fire, a pinch of haunting or smattering of sword fighting, so I don’t go mad on the whole reality thing, but life experience is still invaluable for a writer.

So these trips have been great, but along with the new experiences I have also gained a deadline. Oh yes. One of those: that which we hate and love, that date circled on the calendar that makes you shake at the knees but also make you get stuff done.

Mine’s the 1st of November 2014…though I can’t tell you what it is for yet, (I know, what a tease!) but I will tell you I’m trying not to think too hard about that fact that that’s only 7 weeks away.

When I picked myself up off the floor after being given this date, made myself a cup of tea and collected myself, I did all I could do…I got stuck into it. The drafting ship is launched again.

I shall have to continue getting stuck into it if there’s any chance in all seven hells this is going to get done, so I may be intermittent on WordPress in the meantime. I shall still be posting through my Facebook page and Twitter account, to let off drafting steam if nothing else, so do feel free to get in touch/sympathise/offer advice.

Seriously…I may need it!

More details about this deadline as soon as physically possible.

Oh! And Zero is selling well on Amazon and I have completely sold out of the copies the publisher provided me with for my launch and book signings. This first novel in the Orbit series really is blasting off and racking up the reviews on Amazon and Goodreads.

'Zero' - out now on Amazon for SciFi Fans everywhere!

‘Zero’ – out now on Amazon for SciFi Fans everywhere!

This makes me more happy than I can say and thank you so much to everyone who has signed up to join the crew of the Zero on their adventure so far. For me, it is enough to know my story is out there being read, but if those who have done so would take a minute or two to leave an honest rating and review on Amazon, this would be pure wonder dynamite as this gives the publisher more whack for advertising and the chance to reach more people.

So many thanks, many loves and I will be around, so don’t stray! There will be a point where I go drafting-crazy and need an outlet, so do stay tuned for amusement’s sake alone. Also, I have booked my next writing retreat at The Lymehurst in Grange Over Sands in October (my usual haunt of Gladstone’s Library was unfortunately full) so I will no doubt be reporting from there over that weekend.

I believe we are all due some new flash fiction, so this will also happen before too long. See my Flash Fiction and Short Fiction pages in the mean time should you wish to dip into some other worlds before I create some new ones.

Adios, amigos. Hasta luego!

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Greetings, Catching up, Shiny News

  1. So much awesome news! I would love to drink some ale at a Crusades-era pub. Wow. And of course I’m never one to turn down tea and cake, so good on your publisher.

  2. Glad the vacation was restful; it was definitely well earned! And congrats on the good sales. I’m glad ZERO is finding its audience.

    I cringed at the Nov. 7 deadlines. Yikes. Buckle down! 🙂

  3. M. C. Dulac says:

    Woohoo, it’s all happening!

  4. Bravo! That cake looks freaking delicious.

Leave a Reply

