From One Retreat to Another

The sands at Grange-Over-Sands are all at once eerie, beautiful, overwhelming and inspiring

The sands are all at once eerie, beautiful, overwhelming and inspiring

Well, good evening all and greetings to my new followers. Great to have you on board! Long may we continue.

I have now returned from my Grange-Over-Sands writing retreat, and what a great retreat it was. I highly recommend it as a location for any writer. Moody, atmospheric countryside and promenades for those inspirational walks, an almost endless supply of top-quality afternoon teas, and, the most important thing a writer needs, peace and quiet.

I have returned with a great deal of progress accomplished on my current WIP and the great feeling that accompanies such an achievement.

In fact, I don’t want to jinx it…but I feel nearly done. The first draft, anyway. There is still the unchartered heights and pitfalls of the re-drafting, editing and streamlining to navigate…but I must confess, that’s the bit of writing novels I love the most so I’m just looking forward to getting to that point.

(More info on this current WIP as and when I can release it. I know, I’m a tease. But I’m hoping it will be worth the wait!)

It's always important to have a break. I went creature-spotting in the woods

It’s always important to have a break. I went creature-spotting in the woods

Further to this end, I’m taking myself off again this weekend to bury myself back in the draft and get it as fettled as possible. I’m just heading home to Shropshire this time, to a quiet corner of my parents’ living room, not far from their well-stocked kitchen (how come parents always have a loads of food? And good food, too. No Sainsbury’s own 11p noodles in sight) and a leafy park for walks to clear my head.

Here’s looking to managing another shed load more progress by this time next week.

In the meantime, so you don’t miss me too much, as well as for the seasonal proverbial and giggles, if you would like to win the chance to actually appear in my next novel, head on over to my Facebook page for a ‘like and share’ competition! Share…if you dare, mwahahaha! Because, after all, anyone who has read my debut science fiction novel Zero or my short fiction knows how I treat my characters. It’s not always with hugs and a gentle, guiding hand.

Sometimes there are machetes.

So consider yourself warned! But there’s got to be some appeal in the potential for adventure!

The competition closes at midnight on the 31st October so get clicking! And get that imagination whirling. You can even choose what sort of character you would like to be!

And, since it is that time of year, also…I think I feel a new ghost story coming on…

It's also important that it not be all work and no play. Here's a hard-earned break with an even harder-earned traditional cream tea whilst looking out over the sands. Jolly good, too.

It’s also important that it not be all work and no play. Here’s a hard-earned break with an even harder-earned traditional cream tea whilst looking out over the sands. Jolly good, too.

Will get one sorted for a Halloween posting for your reading pleasure…or pain mwahaha.

If you have any challenges for a Halloween short story, hit me up!

I do likes a challenge.

In the meantime, keep it real chums! Don’t forget my space-pirate romp Zero is out now on Amazon in paperbook and for kindle. You can also keep track of me on Facebook and Twitter for updates and more, but either way, I’ll see you on the other side of this draft!

Bon soir!

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

