A Very Merry Season to All and Here’s to 2015!

Felicitations of the season, my dearest followers! I hope everyone is gearing up to a day or two spent with loved ones with plenty of glittery decorations, sparkly drinks and loaded plates. I, myself, shall be going to my parents in Shropshire for the next few days. I anticipate frosty walks in the hills and frousting in front of the fire in new pyjamas. 

I can’t wait. 

But even whilst I’m having a festive break, there’s still plenty of things to be passing on! 

The first is that my debut SciFi novel, Zero, as well as raking in the great reviews on Amazon has also been featured in Northern Soul Magazine’s Best Reads of 2014!

Chris Park was kind enough to state: 

“I’m not usually a sci-fi fan but Zero, the debut novel by Lancaster-based writer J.S. Collyer, is an awesome adventure of space pirates in a not too distant future. With characters you can’t help but fall in love with, this is the first of a series and I can’t wait for the next instalment.”

Read the full article here. Needless to say, I am pleased as Christmas punch. If you have not read Zero, it is available through Amazon for kindle and as paperback. Check out the blurb on my Zero page here on WordPress and the reviews on Goodreads too!

Zero is a dramatic romp with space pirates, ships, politics and suberterfuge. It is also my very first novel and I’m so, so pleased with how it’s gone so far. A huge festive shout out to my publisher Dagda Puplishing and my cover artists Matt at Rock and Hill Studio and all the amazing readers among you that beta-read the manuscript and reviewed advance copies. I would not have got this far this year without you. 

Click here to be taken to Facebook to my share & like competition to win a free ebook copy of Zero!

Click here to be taken to Facebook to my share & like competition to win a free ebook copy of Zero!

Oh, and as it’s Christmas, if you want a chance to grab a FREE copy of the ebook version of Zero, head on over to my Facebook page and take part in the Christmas competition! It closes midnight Christmas Eve so there’s still plenty of time to be entered into the draw! Just click the festive Zero picture to be taken to the original on Facebook, like, share & comment on it and I shall be announcing the winner after Christmas! 

The festive season wouldn’t be right without a Christmas short story, so do help yourself to my Christmas short Bleak Midwinter, my re-writing of a classic tale that I enjoy re-reading myself this time of year. 

And here’s looking forward to 2015 which not only has events in store like Yorkshire Cosplay Con (this looks to be a great day out for all ages and I will be there selling & signing copies of Zero with glamorous assistants dressed as characters from the book, so do come and say hi!) but also the release of book 2 in the Orbit Series, Zero‘s sequel: Haven. I finished drafting Haven not too long ago and am very excited with this story. It was so much fun to revisit these characters. I hope you will enjoy seeing what they get up to next! 

Have a great holiday, everyone. And thanks for a great 2014. 

Here’s looking to an even bigger 2015!

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Very Merry Season to All and Here’s to 2015!

  1. 1WriteWay says:

    A Merry Season to you too, Jex! What wonderful news about Zero … a great way to close out the year 🙂

  2. Thanks for being a big part of my year in 2014, for your friendship and for being a great sounding board, and for JESSICA — an amazing experience for me. Congrats on all you’ve accomplished this year, and here’s hopes for an even better 2015!

  3. What a 2014 you’ve had, Jex! But it looks like ’15 has a chance to surpass it. To infinity and beyond!

Leave a Reply

