Sequel Achievement Unlocked: Two Books Further Down the Road

achievement.goal_.mountainWell, spin me round and call me Frank. I’ve written another book.

I kid ye not!

Last year I released my first novel, Zero: a space-pirate-packed romp following the exploits of the crew of an undercover privateer ship that uncovers Orbit-wide revolutionary conspiracies. It is book one in my Orbit Series and has done very well so far, I am very pleased to say, received enthusiastically by fans science fiction and general fiction alike.

See synopsis & reviews on Amazon (and pick up a copy for yourself if you so please!) here

See synopsis & reviews on Goodreads here

I have now finished my final edit of the sequel, Haven. Haven revisits the characters of Kaleb Hugo, former captain of the Zero and his one-time commander Ezekiel Webb, to see how they have moved on (or not) from the tumultuous events at the end of Book 1. They are now that they are faced with a whole new challenge. And this time it’s personal.

Haven, Book 2 in the Orbit Series, contiues the adventures of the Zero crew and is out Oct 2015

Haven, Book 2 in the Orbit Series, contiues the adventures of the Zero crew and is out Oct 2015

I’m super-pleased with how Haven has come together. It’s a different flavour to Zero, no question, lower-key in some ways, more ambitous in others. But is still full of action and intrigue with buckets of character-driven plot twists and turns. I really hope readers of Zero will find it a worthy follow-on.

It has now gone to a very lovely person for a beta-read and then it shall wing its way back to Dagda Publishing to be checked over and finalised ahead of its release this October.

The only thing that pleases me more is looking at the position I’m in now. If you told me at the beginning of 2013 that in two years’ time I would have written two books, one released, one due for release and have the deadline for a third looming, I would have put down my cup of tea, patted you on the shoulder in a pitying manner and said, ‘if you say so’ in an unconvinced sort of way.

What a wondrous drive a deadline can install in you!

Stay tuned for news of the upcoming release of Haven, Book 2 in the Orbit series including its official launch date (and possibly event), more appearences and merchandise as well as details of Dagda’s next planned crowdfunding/pre-order campaign. I’ve been promised there will be lots of exclusive perks potentially up for grabs in order to raise money for the Haven marketing budget. We’re going to make it blast off into the stratosphere!

Now to settle down and try not to bite nails whilst I wait for the beta reader’s verdict.

This entry was posted in Musings on Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sequel Achievement Unlocked: Two Books Further Down the Road

  1. Proud of you, Jex! Good job, and I’m looking forward to getting Haven into my grubby little hands. 🙂

  2. Fantastic news! You’re…actually…doing…it!

Leave a Reply

